Are you an international or local student? Are you an international or local student?

1 I am a:

2 I want to study in:



Hon. John Pandazopoulos | Board Chair

John currently holds the positions of Chair of Parks Victoria and Chair of Tourism Midwest Victoria Board. John is Victoria’s longest continuous serving Tourism, Major Events and Gaming Minister with 30 years’ experience in public policy, Government and governance at international, national, state and Local Government levels.

John is the former Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Racing, Major Projects and Employment, former Member of the ‘Cleanevent’ Advisory Board, one of Australia’s largest event businesses at the time, local Councillor and Mayor of the then-City of Berwick and Executive of the Municipal Association of Victoria, former Chair and Deputy Chair of the Victorian Parliament Environment and Natural Resources Committee and former Chair of Destination Phillip Island Regional Tourism Board, one of Australia’s best known tourism regions.


Chris Altis 


Chris holds a Bachelor of Commerce, and Master of Arts (Public Policy) from the University of Melbourne and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Chris has 30 years’ experience in the health sector, working in a policy and advisory capacity at a Victorian and national level.

As Chair of the North Richmond Community Health Service, he oversaw the establishment of Melbourne’s first medically supervised injecting facility. He was also the founding Executive Manager of The New Daily Pty Ltd, a national online news service.

He currently holds other non-executive director roles including Austin Health (appointed 2015), Eastern Melbourne Primary Health Network (appointed 2021), and ESTA Triple Zero (2021).


Roger Clifton 

Roger was trained in Marketing and Advertising Principles at RMIT. He formed his own advertising agency called Clifton Court Smith with two partners; they later bought the Melbourne office of international advertising agency Ogilvy & Mather. For eight years during his career, Roger sat on the Curriculum Committee for the Advertising Course of RMIT and after his retirement was a lecturer in the Advertising course at Holmesglen Institute.

Roger is a former President of the Advertising Institute of Australasia and was made a Life Fellow in the year 2000.

Roger has served as Chair of the Prahran Market Governance Board, Chair of the Victorian Veterans Council, member of the Board of Directors of Prahran Mission and is currently a Trustee of the Melbourne Shrine of Remembrance, and an Honorary Justice of the Peace.


Nicholas Hunt (CEO)

Nicholas Hunt has extensive experience within the tourism industry and vocational education sector. Throughout his time at William Angliss Institute, Nick has focused on developing William Angliss Institute’s educational programs across both vocational and higher education, strengthening the Institute’s activities in support of industry growth and educational change and leading the Institute’s strategic development to ensure the Institute is best placed to continue its success in future years.

Nick’s qualifications include a Master of Education Policy (International) University of Melbourne, Bachelor of Arts (Hons) University of Tasmania and he is also a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Wendy Jones

Wendy Jones is an experienced and passionate tourism and hospitality industry practitioner, with a background in association management. She has worked extensively with executive teams and boards across the tourism industry, the environment sector and community. 

Wendy’s previous management roles have included CEO of the Restaurant and Catering Association of Victoria, Tourism Training NT and Keep Australia Beautiful Victoria, in addition to being an owner-operator in the hospitality sector. She has also previously held numerous board positions across the industry in both Victoria and Northern Territory. 

Wendy holds a Master of Business (Human Resource Management) Charles Sturt University and a Bachelor of Arts University of Melbourne. She is also a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Matteo Pignatelli 

Matteo Pignatelli graduated with a Diploma of Business in Hospitality Management at William Angliss Institute in 1989, after winning individual awards for Culinary Studies, Food and Beverage Operations and Most Outstanding 2nd Year Student. 

After graduation, Matteo worked full-time as Managing Director at Fedele’s, Glen Waverley. After four years building up his successful business, he opened Matteo’s in 1994 in the building once occupied by Mietta’s in North Fitzroy. 

Matteo is currently a National Board member of the Restaurant and Catering Association of Australia, and Chair of Restaurant and Catering Association Victorian Council.


Brenda Richardson

Brenda Richardson has over 25 years’ experience in the Manufacturing and Information Technology industries. As well as IT, her career has included a broad range of roles in Logistics, Process Re-engineering, Change Management and Strategy.

Brenda has considerable experience in Higher Education, including 11 years on the Council of the University of Tasmania. Brenda is the former Deputy Chair of the Geelong Cemeteries Trust (Class A).  Her board experience also includes roles in Built Environment, Audit and Risk, Community Engagement and serving on advisory committees.

Currently self-employed, Brenda specialises in bridging the gap between technical and non-technical communities.

Brenda holds a Bachelor of Science (with Honours) majoring in Mathematics and Computing as well as a Master of Business Administration. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Lynn Richardson (Elected Director)


The Elected Director is a staff member and is elected by the staff of the Institute. 

Lynn Richardson is an experienced Director with a focus on building organisational capacity through positive corporate culture, innovation, and delivery against strategic goals. Lynn has extensive experience in the International Hotel and Resort industry, Higher and Vocational Education. A graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Lynn holds an MBA from the Australian Graduate School of Entrepreneurship, post graduate qualifications in professional accounting and dual qualifications in educational research from the University of Melbourne. Lynn is the Elected Director on the William Angliss Institute Board, Director for Sustain: The Australian Food Network, and Board Chair for The Environmental Group Limited (ASX:EGL).


Peter Sexton

Peter Sexton is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Chartered Accountant. Peter has 40 years’ experience in external audit across Australia, the UK and Indonesia, auditing publicly-listed companies, large proprietary companies and not-for-profits, helping businesses achieve an appropriate level of best practice in financial reporting and risk management. 

Peter’s contribution as a Director leverages his financial reporting and management experience, particularly his interest in behavioural management and the importance of strategy, execution, culture and structure in growing a successful business.

Peter is also a Director and Chair of the Audit Committee for Australian Securities Ltd, a member of the Finance and Audit Committee for the National Trust (Victoria), and a Director, Treasurer and Chair of the Finance, Risk & Audit Committee for Montsalvat Ltd, a cultural and tourism precinct in Eltham, Victoria that has practical and meaningful exchanges with the Australian artistic community, providing educational opportunities in all forms of the arts for people of all ages and stages of life.